News and Updates

LGANT Elects New Board of Directors

Posted In: 
Events & Announcements

LGANT Board of Directors, in back from left Director Fred Behrens, President Grant Hood and Vice President Mike Rudkin. In front are Director Judy Goucher and Treasurer Sheila Bassi-Kellett. Inset photo of Director Catherine Mallon.

LGANT’s regular members elected their new Board of Directors during the Association's 2017 Annual General Meeting on October 5, 2017.

The AGM was held during LGANT’s annual professional development conference held in Yellowknife from October 2 to 5, 2017 at the Chateau Nova Yellowknife.

Grant Hood, the Senior Administrative Officer (SAO) for the Town of Inuvik, returns as President for a fourth two-year term.  Mike Rudkin, SAO for the Hamlet of Fort Liard, was elected Vice President.

Aklavik SAO Fred Behrens and Norman Wells SAO Catherine Mallon were returned as Directors while Yellowknife City Administrator Sheila Bassi-Kellett joined the Board of Directors as Treasurer and Hay River SAO Judy Goucher was elected as a Director for the first time.

LGANT is the acronym for Local Government Administrators of the Northwest Territories: a professional association of senior management staff in community governments across the Northwest Territories. The Association strives for and promotes excellence and professionalism in the field of local government administration through education, awareness raising and career development.

Senior Administrative Officers are the most senior management staff in community governments, and as such are regular members of LGANT.  LGANT regular members can vote in meetings of the Association and can hold office on the Board of Directors.  Regular members share a common interest with LGANT’s associate members in building administrative and management capacity in NWT communities and promoting careers in local government.